Yellow loop (103 km)

Complete flandrien together

I suggested to my colleague Tom from the Center Tour of Flanders to schedule a video call. His answer included “Otherwise yellow loop during day off?”. Of course I said wholeheartedly 'yes' to that. I was surprised by the offer, because 'stoempen' on the cobblestones is mainly written for me. Tom, in turn, climbs up more easily with his slim build. He recently also bought a Specialized gravel bike. In terms of complementarity, that was therefore good. As a team, we are perhaps the equivalent of the qualities that a full-fledged Flandrien must have. We don't come close in magnitude. Forgive us, we just like to associate ourselves with such a heroic figure. Especially as a citizen of a cycling crazy region such as Flanders. It was clear: the social distance was definitely going to be preserved given my hunger for cobbles and Tom's frolicking uphill. I had already received one piece of advice and shared it with Tom. Enough dosing to handle the finale with Kerkgate and the Wolvenberg as a climax.

yellow loop

Thunderstorm with not a single cobblestone on the counter

As two motivated, recreational cyclists we departed from our workplace: the Center Tour of Flanders. Where the three Round loops (blue, red and yellow) start and end. The yellow loop is mainly known as the route for cobblestones. Nevertheless, the 916 meters of altitude already gave us a light thunder before we had even docked over one cobblestone. On autopilot I cut the roundabout with the blue loop in mind. The yellow loop is therefore different from the other two from the start. In the beginning (!) Tom was even more attentive. The Petegemberg (530 meters, average 7.6%, max. 11%) in Wortegem-Petegem was a precursor to the above mentioned altimeters. The view is impressive. With the race cap on, the bench that is there is not yet applicable as a resting place. Arrives way too early in the route. With the hat of romantic soul it is on another occasion a serious contender to go for a picnic with my girlfriend. All this aside.

Petegemberg

Koers evokes stories

Then it went to the Nokereberg (350 m, avg. 6%, max. 7%) where a young man with a racing cap was reading. He watched Tom and I both climb the cobblestones at our own pace. I did return to ask what the Nokereberg meant to him. He started talking about Mathieu Van der Poel's blood that was there last year (2019) during his fall in the final sprint during Nokere Koerse. Yes, that bad trap everyone thought would end spring before it even got underway. He was immediately taken to hospital in Oudenaarde. Miraculously, the next day he sat barely 200 meters away with us in the Paterbergzaal for a press conference. Here too I deviate a bit, literally and figuratively, but it is too tempting to stick to the prescribed yellow route. The race simply evokes many stories.

Nokereberg

Race cap off

Then came the Huisepontweg (1450 m), Thorn (1620 m) and Den Ast (350 m, avg. 5.5%, max. 11%). Those cobblestone sections are a good preparation for what was yet to come. The Paddestraat (2400 m) is one of those mythical cobblestone sections that you can look forward to until you have to cross it yourself. Afterwards you take off your race cap for the professional cyclists who race over the cobblestones like an express train. A tip: we took a welcome break after the Paddestraat, because 300 meters later is the Lippenhovestraat (1300 m). Then the road goes towards Zottegem. Be aware of the danger point between Buke and the N462. Beyond that point, the yellow loop is very safe.

Paddestraat

Molenberg or Caildenberg: it's up to you

After this well-filled cobblestone menu there was a short intermezzo to let the eaten cobblestones lower for a while. The asphalt slopes Flame (700 m downhill, avg. 5%, max. 10%) and Hostellerie (1200 m downhill, avg. 3%, max. 10%) going downhill were the perfect opportunity to boost that average on Strava. Although there is still the Kortendries (2200m, avg 3%, max 10%). These challenges soon faded when I started talking about the famous one Molenberg (460 m, avg. 7%, max. 14%). I warned Tom about the poor state of the cobblestones and the fact that there is a slope (Caildenberg: 800 m, avg. 4%, max. 7%) which also led to the end of the Molenberg. Conclusion: our paths parted for a moment and he took his money before I realized it.

Throw ourselves to the wolves

Then there was cobbles again. Hunting mill (730 m) was a warm-up for the cobblestone mastodont Kerkgate. Kerkgate (2500 m) starts with very clean cobblestones that give the cycling citizen courage. Already after 500 meters that courage is diminished because the condition of the cobblestones deteriorates visibly. A physical, but also a mental issue. The strip seems endless when you do it for the first time. Then followed the Volkegemberg (1000 m, avg. 5%, max. 12%) downhill. After the cobbled final there was now also the last asphalt slope uphill. The steepest passage of the Wolvenberg (800 m, avg. 4%, max. 17%) hurt after all that climbing and docking. We knew in advance that we were going to throw ourselves and especially our legs to the wolves. I made it to the top, but Tom exploded and lost his leg muscles somewhere along the way. The honest finder receives a reward from us. Please return to Markt 43 in Oudenaarde.

Road surface in bad condition: to avoid or a matter of honor?

To get it off, there was a short cobble stone section in the Ruiterstraat (800 m), where a road sign “road surface in bad condition” made us laugh green. Motorists would avoid such a road surface at all costs, while cyclists make it a point of honor to brave those cobblestone sections. The Kattenberg (600 m, average 6%, max. 8%) downhill with the mosaic cobblestones are very comfortable. You would almost forget that there are also such cobblestones. Make sure during the descent that your alertness does not weaken, especially after so much effort.

After 5 hours of cycling, Tom and I passed the beautiful, Gothic town hall of Oudenaarde again. Bathed in the light of the evening sun. It is a scene that my colleague and I see again every working day. It has never been so beautiful.

The verdict

My unvarnished opinion about the yellow loop? The countless cobblestones linked to the altimeters ensure that this is not inferior to the red and blue loop. Ok, there are less roaring names such as the Muur, the Paterberg or the Koppenberg. The yellow loop will take you to places in the Flemish Ardennes where you would otherwise never come. For that reason alone you must have cycled this loop. You are of course for or against cobblestones. In my case, that famous brick in the stomach can be replaced by a cobblestone. This yellow loop is recommended for every cycling tourist who likes to eat cobblestones and loves beautiful nature.

Enjoy the ride and keep it safe!

Sander

Would you like to ride the yellow loop yourself? You can find more info on our page about different cycling routes in the Flemish Ardennes.

Boucle jaune (103 km)

Complétez Flandrien ensemble

J'ai suggéré à mon collègue Tom du Centre Tour des Flandres de planifier un appel vidéo. Sa réponse incluait «Sinon boucle jaune pendant la journée de congé?». Bien sûr, j'ai dit «oui» de tout cœur à cela. J'ai été surpris par l'offre, car «stoempen» sur les pavés est principalement écrit pour moi. Tom, à son tour, grimpe plus facilement avec sa silhouette mince. Il a également récemment acheté un vélo de gravier spécialisé. En termes de complémentarité, c'était donc bien. En tant qu'équipe, nous sommes peut-être l'équivalent des qualités qu'un Flandrien à part entière doit avoir. Nous ne nous rapprochons pas de l'ampleur. Pardonnez-nous, nous aimons simplement nous associer à une telle figure héroïque. Surtout en tant que citoyen d'une région folle de cyclisme comme la Flandre. C'était clair: la distance sociale allait définitivement être préservée étant donné ma soif de pavés et les ébats de Tom en montée. J'avais déjà reçu un conseil et l'avais partagé avec Tom. Assez de dosage pour gérer la finale avec Kerkgate et le Wolvenberg comme point culminant.

yellow loop

Orage avec pas un seul pavé sur le comptoir

En tant que cyclistes motivés et récréatifs, nous avons quitté notre lieu de travail: le Centre Tour des Flandres. Où les trois boucles rondes (bleu, rouge et jaune) commencent et se terminent. La boucle jaune est principalement connue comme la route des pavés. Néanmoins, les 916 mètres d'altitude nous ont déjà donné un léger tonnerre avant même d'avoir accosté sur un pavé. En pilote automatique, j'ai coupé le rond-point avec la boucle bleue à l'esprit. La boucle jaune est donc différente des deux autres dès le départ. Au début (!) Tom était encore plus attentif. le Petegemberg (530 mètres, moyenne 7,6%, max. 11%) à Wortegem-Petegem était un précurseur des altimètres mentionnés ci-dessus. La vue est impressionnante. Avec la casquette de course, le banc qui s'y trouve n'est pas encore applicable comme lieu de repos. Arrive bien trop tôt dans l'itinéraire. Avec le chapeau de l'âme romantique, c'est à une autre occasion un sérieux prétendant à aller pique-niquer avec ma copine. Tout cela mis à part.

Petegemberg

Koers évoque des histoires

Puis il est allé au Nokereberg (350 m, avg. 6%, max. 7%) où un jeune homme avec une casquette de course lisait. Il regarda Tom et moi gravir les pavés à notre rythme. Je suis retourné demander ce que le Nokereberg signifiait pour lui. Il a commencé à parler du sang de Mathieu Van der Poel qui était là l'année dernière (2019) lors de sa chute dans le sprint final lors de Nokere Koerse. Oui, ce mauvais piège que tout le monde pensait finirait le printemps avant même qu'il ne commence. Il a été immédiatement transporté à l'hôpital d'Audenarde. Miraculeusement, le lendemain, il s'est assis à peine à 200 mètres avec nous dans le Paterbergzaal pour une conférence de presse. Là aussi je m'écarte un peu, au sens propre comme au figuré, mais il est trop tentant de s'en tenir à l'itinéraire jaune prescrit. La course évoque simplement de nombreuses histoires.

Nokereberg

Casquette de course

Puis vint le Huisepontweg (1450 m), Épine (1620 m) et Den Ast (350 m, en moyenne 5,5%, max. 11%). Ces sections pavées sont une bonne préparation pour ce qui restait à venir. le Paddestraat (2400 m) est l'une de ces sections pavées mythiques que vous pouvez attendre jusqu'à ce que vous deviez le traverser vous-même. Ensuite, vous enlevez votre casquette de course pour les cyclistes professionnels qui courent sur les pavés comme un train express. Un conseil: nous avons fait une pause bienvenue après la Paddestraat, car 300 mètres plus tard se trouve le Lippenhovestraat (1300 m). Puis la route se dirige vers Zottegem. Soyez conscient du point de danger entre Buke et le N462. Au-delà de ce point, la boucle jaune est très sûre.

Paddestraat

Molenberg ou Caildenberg: c'est à vous

Après ce menu de pavés bien rempli, il y eut un court intermezzo pour laisser les pavés mangés descendre pendant un moment. Les pentes asphaltées Flamme (700 m de descente, moy.5%, max.10%) et Hostellerie (1200 m de descente, avg. 3%, max. 10%) la descente était l'occasion idéale pour augmenter cette moyenne sur Strava. Bien qu'il y ait encore le Kortendries (2200 m, moyenne 3%, max 10%). Ces défis ont vite disparu quand j'ai commencé à parler du célèbre Molenberg (460 m, moyenne 7%, maximum 14%). J'ai prévenu Tom du mauvais état des pavés et du fait qu'il y a une pente (Caildenberg: 800 m, moy. 4%, max.7%) qui a également conduit à la fin du Molenberg. Conclusion: nos chemins se sont séparés un instant et il a pris son argent avant que je ne m'en rende compte.

Jette-toi aux loups

Puis il y eut à nouveau des pavés. Moulin de chasse (730 m) était un échauffement pour le mastodonte pavé Kerkgate. Kerkgate (2500 m) commence par des pavés très propres qui donnent du courage au cycliste. Déjà après 500 mètres, ce courage est diminué parce que l'état des pavés se détériore visiblement. Un problème physique, mais aussi mental. La bande semble sans fin lorsque vous le faites pour la première fois. Puis a suivi le Volkegemberg (1000 m, moy.5%, max.12%) en descente. Après la finale pavée, il y avait maintenant aussi la dernière pente asphaltée en montée. Le passage le plus raide de la Wolvenberg (800 m, avg. 4%, max. 17%) blessé après toutes ces ascensions et amarrage. Nous savions à l'avance que nous allions nous jeter et surtout nos jambes aux loups. Je suis arrivé au sommet, mais Tom a explosé et a perdu les muscles de ses jambes quelque part en cours de route. Le chercheur honnête reçoit une récompense de notre part. Veuillez retourner au Markt 43 à Audenarde.

Revêtement de la route en mauvais état: à éviter ou question d'honneur?

Pour le retirer, il y avait une courte section de galets dans le Ruiterstraat (800 m), où un panneau routier «chaussée en mauvais état» nous a fait rire vert. Les automobilistes éviteraient à tout prix une telle chaussée, tandis que les cyclistes se font un point d'honneur de braver ces tronçons pavés. La descente Kattenberg (600 m, moyenne 6%, max. 8%) avec les pavés en mosaïque est très confortable. Vous oublieriez presque qu'il existe aussi de tels pavés. Assurez-vous pendant la descente que votre vigilance ne faiblit pas, surtout après tant d'efforts.

Après 5 heures de vélo, Tom et moi sommes de nouveau passés devant la belle mairie gothique d'Audenarde. Baigné par la lumière du soleil du soir. C'est une scène que mon collègue et moi revoyons chaque jour ouvrable. Cela n'a jamais été aussi beau.

Le verdict

Mon opinion sans faille sur la boucle jaune? Les innombrables pavés liés aux altimètres garantissent que ce n'est pas inférieur à la boucle rouge et bleue. Ok, il y a des noms moins rugissants comme le Muur, le Paterberg ou le Koppenberg. La boucle jaune vous emmènera dans des endroits des Ardennes flamandes où vous ne viendriez jamais autrement. Pour cette seule raison, vous devez avoir cyclé cette boucle. Vous êtes bien sûr pour ou contre les pavés. Dans mon cas, cette fameuse brique dans l'estomac peut être remplacée par un pavé. Cette boucle jaune est recommandée pour tous les cyclotouristes qui aiment manger des pavés et aiment la belle nature.

Profitez de la balade et gardez-la en sécurité!

Ponceuse

Souhaitez-vous parcourir la boucle jaune vous-même? Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur notre page sur différents itinéraires cyclables dans les Ardennes flamandes.